Something Missing

Original piece by Sandra C. Obiora Written 6th January 2023 ©


It’s that feeling you get when life is good and everything you ever wanted is in its place

but you know somewhere deep down in your gut that something is missing.

It is off putting. Wildly unsettling. It seems of great value. 

Thus, you push it down with yet another smile.

Yet another chuckle. Yet another exaggerated gesture.

Anything to drive this aggravating feeling out.

It could be that lover. That long lost one, or that friend, or that unreconciled relationship with that parent.

That argument with that coworker. That penny I did not give away.

I suspect it is That God void again.

Reaching out like a black hole that refuses to be filled.

Yet, Although I can’t quite place my finger on it, I just know that something important. Something. Something is certainly missing.

For if this smile is to reach my eyes, I must go in search of that something.

Perhaps I should begin by finding God again.


New to Apoetsbrain? Welcome! Frequently on Apoetsbrain? We are so happy to see you again! For more from us, don’t forget to follow by simply putting your email and clicking follow on the home page, or contacting us via the contact page.

We welcome donations for the running of the site via the

Paypal account: sandra_ora2000@hotmail.com.

No amount is too small.

Don’t forget to drop a comment 🙂

See you soon. Have a super fun day!

 

Leave a comment